//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Hey, guess what…I just had my first shot of T

Hey Friends,

So, as you can probably tell from the title, I’ve started testosterone.  I know, super exciting!  After a long hiatus, I thought I’d start updating the blog again, for a few reasons.

1. I like using this as way of keeping record of the ways that I experience myself and the world.

2. It’s one of the best ways to see how my voice and face are changing.

3. It’s a way for me to keep pushing myself to play/write/perform music.  Serious accountability, here! 🙂

Late last night, the day when I scheduled my first shot of T, I decided it would be important to take time and space to be intentional, reflective, and open about my experiences with T.  I’ll update more regularly, and more often via video.  Also, very exciting!

Before getting into this new stage of video blogging, I wanted to put out a few thoughts. I know a lot of folks track their physical bodies changing in really public ways.  I think that’s a totally amazing, brave thing to do…but that’s not why I’m blogging.  I’m happy to consider sharing some personal details, but in an offline, consented way via email.  More often than not, folks have reacted to me being trans in ways that (often unintentionally) end up being really upsetting and invasive.  It’s like that rule where if you kinda get that feeling that what you (are about to) ask or say gives you that nervousness in your gut, it might be a good idea to think about how you frame the topic, why you are asking it, and if it is something that you would feel totally comfortable answering about something really vulnerable/private about yourself.  Here’s a great reference to check over to help think about your lens, the power you may have in society, and the privileges/comforts that power may give you (even unintentionally) at the expense of others: http://www.lambda10.org/transgender/GenderNormativePrivilege.pdf

Okay, here’s my first video blog — there isn’t any singing/guitar in this one, but check updates for more musically-inclined posts. 🙂

About Queerly Asher

I'm a genderqueer, trans-masculine Jew. I grew up/went to school in the Midwest (UW-Madison) and recently re-located to Boston (Jamaica Plain, MA) to work as a Community Organizer with a LGBT & Queer Jewish organization. I started this wordpress to document my experiences and journey of my own psychological, emotional, and physical form of transition. We'll see where it goes!

Discussion

One thought on “Hey, guess what…I just had my first shot of T

  1. Thanks for sharing, Asher! I look forward to reading/hearing/seeing more, as you choose to share.

    Posted by Eva | November 14, 2011, 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

